

Volume 63, Issue 16

2024-25 Officers

Herschel Smith, President

Charles Christmas, President-Elect

Sylvia Roland, Secretary

Jason Williams, *Treasurer*

Chet Crowley, Immediate Past President

International President

Lee Kuan Yong

The Kiwanis Key

Kiwanis[®]

AMERICUS

Kiwanis Club of Americus

Follow us online: https://k00228.site.kiwanis.org/ https://www.georgiakiwanis.com/ https://www.kiwanis.org/ Facebook: Americus Kiwanis Club Georgia District Theme: Kids Need Kiwanis

April 21, 2025

Board of Directors:

Tim Bell (2025)

Brannon Parks (2025) Rucker Smith (2025) Mark Ennes (2026) David Ewing (2026) Rusty Warner (2026)

		Rusty Warner (2020)
Georgia District Governor		Division 5 Lieutenant Governor
David Simmons		Sylvia Roland
VANIS	President Herschel Smith's Goals for 2024-25	

SIX OBJECTIVES OF KIWANIS

<u>To give primacy to the human and spiritual</u> rather than the material values of life.

<u>To encourage</u> daily living of the Golden Rule in all human relationships

<u>To promote</u> high social, business, and professional standards

<u>To develop</u> by precept and example a more intelligent, aggressive , and serviceable cit-izenship.

<u>To provide</u> enduring friendships and altruistic services for better communities.

<u>To cooperate</u> in creating and maintaining high ideals which will increase righteousness, justice, patriotism, and good will.

- Be a distinguished club using both Georgia Kiwanis and Kiwanis International criteria
- Support at least 1 Key Club
- Have a net growth of +1 for the year
- Have sponsors of new members mentor the newcomer for a year
- Host more social events, thus encouraging members to get

Upcoming Events

April 26—Tree Sale at Hometown Health Care May 2—Annual Meeting (Election of Officers) June 25-28—Kiwanis International Convention in Pittsburgh (Sylvia will attend) August 8-10—Georgia District Convention in Dalton (Sylvia and Herschel to attend)

Motto: Serving the children of the world

The Americus Kiwanis Club was chartered on April 6, 1920. We meet at 1:00 PM on Fridays in the faculty dining room at Georgia Southwestern State University (GSW).

You are invited to join us for A Charter Night for the Hawkinsville-Pulaski County Kiwanis Club

Tuesday, May 13, 2025

6:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.



Verrue: Southern Hills Golf Course 360 Wasner, Robins Hury. Haurkinsville, GA 31036

RSVP By May 1, 2025

\$15/Person

Heavy Hors d'oeuvre's will be served. 50/50 Drawing - \$5/ticket or \$20 for 5 Tickets



RSVP QR Code



Above: Be a blood donor! Kiwanis members are very generous in donating blood. The next blood drive will be June 20 at First Baptist Church, 221 South Lee Street. Walk-ins accepted.

Left: Our Kiwanis club will pay for one club member and his spouse or two club members to attend the charter night for Hawkinsville-Pulaski County Kiwanis Club. Let President Herschel know if you are interested in attending. Sylvia is attending, but not as one of our two paid members.

Below: John Edgemon dressed in the spirit of golf for last Friday's golf tournament. Also, these are most of the members who worked at the tournament, but even more participated in calling and visiting donors, collecting prizes, and otherwise assisting in the success of our golf tournament.







you to Blake Hill for preparing lunch for everyone!



Community Service

Brannon Parks, Liaison

Spelling Bee Herschel Smith, Chair Tim Bell Becky Gillespie Cindy Gillespie Blake Hill George Peagler James Sizemore Rucker Smith

Reading

Jody Wade, Chair Tammye Pettyjohn Jones Bill Krenson Charlene Pennymon Fred Richmond Carlyle Walton Jason Williams Alwen Yeung

Boy Scouts

John Edgemon, Chair Wade Barr Bill Krenson Herschel Smith George Torbert Josh Windus

Key Club

Alwen Yeung, Furlow John Shealy, Southland

Scholarship

Stephen Snyder, Chair Mark Grimes Rusty Warner Lewis Webb Jason Williams

Pet Parade

Charlene Pennymon, Chair Frank Ceresoli Meda Krenson Alwen Yeung James Sizemore Rucker Smith

School Liaison

Furlow—Jason Williams and Alwen Yeung Southland—John Shealy Sumter—Sylvia Roland Schley—Brannon Parks and Blake Hill

Membership

Mark Ennes and David Ewing, Co-Liaisons

Senior Member David Ewing, Chair Bill Bennett Bill Sheppard

Membership Retention

David Ewing, Chair Bill Bennett

New Member Recruitment

Mark Ennes, Chair Linda Hagins Tommy Hagins Tammy Pettyjohn Jones Rucker Smith

Leadership

Rucker Smith, Liaison

Officer Slate Lewis Webb, Chair Bill Bowen Stephen Snyder Dennis Stalvey

Fundraising

Rusty Warner, Liaison

Arbor Day Tree Sale Mark Simmons, Chair Mark Pace, Co-Chair Mike Fletcher Chadwick Gugg Charlene Pennymon Ethan Wolfe

Golf Tournament

Wesley Larkin, Chair Jamie Cromer John Edgemon Blake Hill Carlyle Walton Wes Wheeler

Club Operations

Tim Bell, Liaison

Meeting Set-Up Sam Peavy, Chair Wade Barr Kevin Kwashnak Scott Leemis George Saratsiotis Dennis Stalvey

Music

Bill Sheppard, Chair David Ewing Charlene Pennymon Sylvia Roland Carlyle Walton Alwen Yeung

Programs Charles Christm

Charles Christmas, Chair All members

Communication Chet Crowley, Chair Rob Collins Anne Isbell Sylvia Roland

Public Relations

Sylvia Roland, Chair Cindy Gillespie Judy Parkinson Stephen Snyder Dennis Stalvey Rusty Warner Josh Windus Patty Ferry

Social

Standing Committees, Sub-

Committees and Membership

Current as of April 21, 2025

Administrative Year 2024-25

Cathy Mueller, Chair Linda Hagins, Frank Ceresoli Becky Gillespie Cindy Gillespie Tammye Pettyjohn Jones James Sizemore Carlyle Walton

Inter Club

Bill Krenson, Chair Tim Bell Bill Bird

Chaplains

Wade Barr Dennis Stalvey

Financial Review Committee

Bill Sheppard (2022-25) Lewis Webb (2023-26) Becky Gillespie (2024-27)

If you prefer to serve on another committee, you may contact President Herschel Smith at (407) 704-9623 or by email at herschelsmith3@gmail.com

The *Kiwanis Key* is created by Secretary Sylvia Roland. Please text her at (229) 815-0977 or email at sylviacroland@gmail.com with pictures and other submissions.