

Volume 63. Issue 20

2024-25 Officers

Herschel Smith, President

Wesley Larkin, President-Elect

# The Kiwanis Key

# **Kiwanis Club of Americus**

Sylvia Roland, Secretary

Follow us online: https://k00228.site.kiwanis.org/

Jason Williams, *Treasurer* https://www.georgiakiwanis.com/

Chet Crowley, https://www.kiwanis.org/

Immediate Past President

Georgia District Thomas Kids Noos

mmediate Past President Georgia District Theme: Kids Need Kiwanis

## **Board of Directors:**

Tim Bell (2025)

Brannon Parks (2025)

Rucker Smith (2025)

Mark Ennes (2026)

**David Ewing** (2026)

Rusty Warner (2026)

**International President** 

Lee Kuan Yong

# **Georgia District Governor**

# **David Simmons**

# Division 5 Lieutenant Governor

Sylvia Roland

## SIX OBJECTIVES OF KIWANIS

<u>To give</u> primacy to the human and spiritual rather than the material values of life.

<u>To encourage</u> daily living of the Golden Rule in all human relationships

<u>To promote</u> high social, business, and professional standards

<u>To develop</u> by precept and example a more intelligent, aggressive, and serviceable citizenship.

<u>To provide</u> enduring friendships and altruistic services for better communities.

<u>To cooperate</u> in creating and maintaining high ideals which will increase righteousness, justice, patriotism, and good will.

President Herschel Smith's Goals for 2024-25

- Be a distinguished club using both Georgia Kiwanis and Kiwanis International criteria
- Support at least 1 Key Club
- Have a net growth of +1 for the year
- Have sponsors of new members mentor the newcomer for a year
- Host more social events, thus encouraging members to get

# **Upcoming Events**

June 27; July 18—Friday regular meetings to be held at Quality Inn

June 25-28—Kiwanis International Convention in Pittsburgh (Sylvia will attend)

August 8-10—Georgia District Convention in Dalton (Sylvia McDaniel, Wesley Larkin, Cindy Gillespie and Jess Sinclair to attend)

# Motto: Serving the children of the world

The Americus Kiwanis Club was chartered on April 6, 1920. We meet at 1:00 PM on Fridays in the faculty dining room at Georgia Southwestern State University (GSW).

# **Highlights from the Weekly Meeting**

# Program on June 13, 2025



Charles Crisp representing Sumter Historic Trust shared what is happening with the property on W. College St, as well as other in town properties.



A grateful thanks to Mark and Mary Ennes who hosted our summer social. Food and drink were wonderful and a great time was had by all who attended.



# **Upcoming Programs and Assignments**

- June 20 Mark Ennes—
   Katrina Baranko, Immediate
   Past President of Kiwanis
   Internal.
- June 27 Mike Fletcher
- ♦ July 4—NO MEETING
- ♦ July 11—Becky Gillespie
- ♦ July 18—Cindy Gillespie
- ♦ July 25—Mark Grimes
- August 1—Chadwick Gugg
- ◆ August 8—Tommy Hagins
- ♦ August 15—Linda Hagins
- ♦ August 22—Blake Hill
- August 29—Tammye Pettyjohn Jones
- September 5—Anne Isbell;
- September 12—Bill Krenson;
- September 19—Meda Krenson;
- September 26—Kevin Kwashnak;
- October 3—Officer Installation

# **Upcoming Events and Announcements**

## **Meeting Location Change!!**



Kiwanis Club will be meeting at the Quality Inn 1205 South MLK Blvd. on these dates: Friday, June 6; Friday, June 27; and Friday, July 18 Meetings will begin at 1:00 as usual. Plan to arrive between 12:30—1:00 PM.

GSW is hosting Storm Days for incoming freshmen on those dates and will be using our meeting room. When you arrive for

Kiwanis on those dates, please tell the cashier that you are here for Kiwanis. Then help yourself to the buffet, including main meal, dessert, and drink. Our treasurer will be writing one

# **New Member Induction**



Pictured Left to Right: Mark Ennes—Membership Chair, Patty Ferry—Beth's Sponsor, our new member Beth Siren

# Weekly Card Game Results



## June 13, 2025

- ♦ \$864 Pot
- ♦ \$480 Seed
- ♦ \$863.44 Hixon

Cathy Mueller's ticket was pulled, but she failed to draw the Ace of Spades! The pot still grows with 10 cards to draw. Good time to come to a meeting. You might be the winner!





Standing Committees, Sub-Committees and Membership Current as of May 16, 2025 Administrative Year 2024-25

# **Community Service**

## Brannon Parks, Liaison

### **Spelling Bee**

Herschel Smith, Chair Tim Bell Becky Gillespie Cindy Gillespie Blake Hill George Peagler James Sizemore Rucker Smith

#### Reading

Jody Wade, Chair Tammye Pettyjohn Jones Bill Krenson Charlene Pennymon Fred Richmond Carlyle Walton Jason Williams Alwen Yeung

#### **Boy Scouts**

John Edgemon, Chair Wade Barr Bill Krenson Herschel Smith George Torbert Josh Windus

### **Key Club**

Alwen Yeung, Furlow John Shealy, Southland

#### Scholarship

Stephen Snyder, Chair Mark Grimes Rusty Warner Lewis Webb Jason Williams

### Pet Parade

Charlene Pennymon, Chair Frank Ceresoli Meda Krenson Alwen Yeung James Sizemore Rucker Smith

#### **School Liaison**

Furlow—Jason Williams and Alwen Yeung Southland—John Shealy Sumter—Sylvia Roland Schley—Brannon Parks and Blake Hill

## Membership

# Mark Ennes and David Ewing, Co-Liaisons

### **Senior Member**

David Ewing, Chair Bill Bennett Bill Sheppard

### **Membership Retention**

David Ewing, Chair Bill Bennett

#### **New Member Recruitment**

Mark Ennes, Chair Linda Hagins Tommy Hagins Tammy Pettyjohn Jones Rucker Smith

# Leadership

## Rucker Smith, Liaison

Officer Slate Lewis Webb, Chair Bill Bowen Stephen Snyder Dennis Stalvey

# **Fundraising**

## Rusty Warner, Liaison

## **Arbor Day Tree Sale**

Mark Simmons, Chair Mark Pace, Co-Chair Mike Fletcher Chadwick Gugg Charlene Pennymon Ethan Wolfe

#### **Golf Tournament**

Wesley Larkin, Chair Jamie Cromer John Edgemon Blake Hill Carlyle Walton Wes Wheeler

## **Club Operations**

### Tim Bell, Liaison

## Meeting Set-Up

Sam Peavy, Chair Wade Barr Kevin Kwashnak Scott Leemis George Saratsiotis Dennis Stalvey

#### Music

Bill Sheppard, Chair David Ewing Charlene Pennymon Carlyle Walton Alwen Yeung

#### **Programs**

Wesley Larkin, Chair All members

#### Communication

Chet Crowley, Chair Rob Collins Anne Isbell Sylvia Roland

#### **Public Relations**

Chet Crowley, Chair Cindy Gillespie Judy Parkinson Stephen Snyder Dennis Stalvey Rusty Warner Josh Windus Patty Ferry

#### Social

Cathy Mueller, Chair Linda Hagins, Frank Ceresoli Becky Gillespie Cindy Gillespie Tammye Pettyjohn Jones James Sizemore Carlyle Walton Charles Christmas

#### **Inter Club**

Bill Krenson, Chair Tim Bell Bill Bird

#### **Chaplains**

Wade Barr Dennis Stalvey Jess Sinclair

# Financial Review Committee

Bill Sheppard (2022-25) Lewis Webb (2023-26) Becky Gillespie (2024-27)

If you prefer to serve on another committee, you may contact President Herschel Smith at (407) 704-9623 or by email at

herschelsmith3@gmail.com