

Kiwanis Pacific Northwest District Convention 2024 Dual Board Meeting 2023-2024 / 2024-2025

Thursday August 22, 2024 Wenatchee Conference Center 1:30 –4:30

Welcome

Meeting called to order at 1:30PM by Governor Hafez.

Roll Call - See attached for full list:

Board of Directors 2023-2024 25 in attendance out of 32 possible, quorum is met.

Board of Directors 2024-2025 21 in attendance out of 31 possible, quorum is met.

Parliamentarian's Report

Roger Bell served as Parliamentarian for the Meeting

Consent Agenda:

- Minutes of the Board meeting on February 18, 2024
- Minutes of the Incoming Board (Lt Gov Training) June 2, 2024
- Committee Reports
 - o 2024-2025 Team: Motion to Approve: Vicki Frucci, Chuck Schmidt 2nd, Unanimously approved.
 - o 2023-2024 Team: Motion to Approve: Jim Hutcheson, Dave Town 2nd, Unanimously approved.

Kiwanis International Dues

Gov. Nicholas Hafez called on Lonnie Johnson to give an update on the dues increase approved by membership in Denver and to be introduced starting Oct 1, 2024.

Treasurer's Report & Finance Report were combined into one report.

Tersea Venne reported a strong year, we are on track to come in under budget for expenses, written report was included. Long-term investments have been showing continued success with strong returns.

Greg Holland reported on the long-term changes that the district finances have seen and our success in bringing the PNW back from challenging times. He reported the district is on a solid foundation and should be looking healthy for the years to come.

Motion to approve the budget for Fiscal year 2024-2025: John Flaherty called the vote, Unanimously approved.

Secretary's Report

DSEC Dave Pearson encouraged the new Board members to contact staff with any questions; we are here to support the division.

Mid-Winter will be Feb 6-9, 2025, in Hood River, OR. DCON will be at Spirit Mt. Casino, OR starting August 22, 2025

Proposed Division Name Change

Roger Bell

Skagit-Island-Whatcom Co is requesting a name change to Mount Baker Views. Roger reported that the request has met all requirements. He called the vote, unanimously approved.

Endorsement of International Trustee Jackie Sue McFarlin Roger Bell

Jackie Sue McFarlin has announced her intention to run for International VP and asks for our support. This was met with enthusiastic support by the Board.

Nicholas Hafez made the motion to offer our full support, Marty Behm 2nd, unanimously approved.

Declarations of Governor-elect Candidates 2024-2025

John Flaherty introduced himself and his passion for Kiwanis. He would be honored to be elected and represent the PNW as Gov-Elect.

Declarations of Governor-elect Candidates 2025-2026 Nicholas Hafez Nicholas called for any declarations of intent to be a candidate for Governor-elect 2025-2026. None were declared.

Approval of CKI SLP Appointment

Gov-Elect Vicki Frucci

Vicki proposed Lisa McCoy for appointment. Susan Meyer made the motion to approve, Dave Towne 2^{nd} , motion carried.

Approval of additional Lt. Gov's 2024-2025

Gov-Elect Vicki Frucci

Vicki proposed Patrick Ewing, Cindy Crowther, Melody Ayers, Shelia McLain, Billie Swengel, and Cheri Kidd to the post of Lt. Gov.

Jim Hutchinson motioned to approve, Jeff Kelso 2nd, motion approved.

Approval of additional Committee Chairs 2024-2025

Gov-Elect Vicki Frucci

None presented

New Business Gov. Nicholas Hafez

Roger called for a waiver of the 15-Day notification rule and proceed with new business regarding the 23-24 fiscal year Lt. Gov's regarding reimbursements. Nicholas asked if anyone objected, hearing none, Roger proceeded.

Roger introduced a proposal from the Executive Committee to make an exception to policy for this fiscal year only (not for 24-25) for the Lt Gov's to be able to request reimbursements without having a previously approved budget. Nicholas called for the vote; it was approved.

Adjournment:

With no other business before the Board, Gov. Nicholas Hafez called to adjourn at 2:30 PM. Marty Behm 2nd, unanimously approved.

###

2024 DCON Board Roll Call 2023-2024 Team

LTGs

	Bowen	Daryl	Alaska-The Great Frontier
Х	Schmidt	Charles	Cascade-Siskiyou
Х	Flaherty	John	Greater Portland
Х	Frucci	Mike	Greater Spokane
Х	George	Ronald	Greater Vancouver Island
	Sappington	Ann	Green River Area
	Rector	Douglas	Lake Washington-East

X	Lunday	Wayne	Lower Columbia
X	Gibbard	Donald	Mid-Columbia River
	Garcia	Jim	Mid-Puget Sound
X	Flaherty	John	Mount Hood Area
X	Boisture	Mike	Mt. Rainier Area
X	White	Suellen	North Cascades
	Swengel	Billie	North Puget Sound
Х	Kelso	Jeffrey	Northeast Oregon
Х	Behm	Martin	Northern Idaho
	Meyer	William	Northwest Oregon
Х	Towne	Dave	Skagit-Island-Whatcom Co
Х	Downey	Patricia	Southwest Washington
Х	Hobbs	Ernest	The Apple Capital
Х	Purscelley	JoAnn	The Four Rivers
Х	Felsted	Devon	The Greater Palouse
Х	Sue	Carla	The Olympic Views
X	Stewart	Willie	West Pierce County
X	Vidan	Amy	Willamette Valley
Х	Dean	Richard	Yakima River Basin
			EXECs
X	Hafez	Nicholas	Governor
Х	Frucci	Vicki	Governor-Elect
X	Crozier	David	Immediate Past Governor
X	Venne	Teresa	Treasurer
Х	Pearson	David	Secretary
Х	Bell	Roger	Parliamentarian

2024 DCON Board Roll Call

2024-2025 Team

LTGs

	1		
Χ	Melody	Ayers	Northwest Oregon
	Alan	Barrington	Four Rivers Area
X	Marty	Behm	Northern Idaho
X	Mike	Boisture	Mt. Rainier Area
	Daryl	Bowen	Frontier Alaska The Great
Х	Cindy	Crowther	Central Oregon
	Duane	Davidson	Mid-Columbia River
Χ	Patrick	Ewing	Greater Vancouver Island
Х	Michael	Frucci	Greater Spokane
X	Jim	Hutchinson	Lake Washington - E.
Χ	Jeffrey	Kelso	Northeast Oregon
	Cherie	Kidd-Forsberg	Olympic View
X	Devon	Felsted	The Greater Palouse
	Robert	Lewis	SW Washington
Х	Carol	Mahoney	Mid-Puget Sound
X	Frank	Marksman	Cascade-Siskiyou
Χ	Michael	McCay	Yakima River Basin
	Sheila	McLain	Lower Columbia
Х	Angela	Merritt-Frymire	Mt. Hood Area
Χ	Susan	Meyer	Greater Portland
	Ann	Sappington	Green River Area
X	Willie	Stewart	West Pierce County
	Billie	Swengel	North Puget Sound

Х	Dave	Towne	Mount Baker Views
Х	Amy	Vidan	Willamette Valley
X	Suellen	White	North Cascades
			EXECs
X	Vicki	Frucci	Governor
X	John	Flaherty	Governor-Elect
X	Nicholas	Hafez	Immediate Past Governor
X	Teresa	Venne	Treasurer
X	David	Pearson	Secretary
X	Roger	Bell	Parliamentarian