

# Louisiana-Mississippi-West Tennessee District

# **AGENDA**

## Meeting of the 2023-2024 District Board of Trustees

July 28, 2024 | 10:00am | Cadence Bank Arena, Tupelo, MS John Fry, Governor, Presiding

- I. Call to Order
- II. Invocation & Defining Statement
- III. Governor Remarks: John Fry
- IV. Governor-Elect Remarks: Claude Vinson

# V. Consent Agenda

NOTE: All items on the Consent Agenda are considered to be routine by the Board of Trustees and will be acted upon with one motion. There will be no discussion of these items prior to the vote on the motion unless a member of the Board has requested in writing to the Executive Director that a specific item be removed.

- A. May 4, 2024, Board Meeting Minutes
- B. District Key Position Reports
- **C.** Circle K: 4 active clubs
- **D.** Key Club: 154 active clubs
- **E.** Aktion Club: 8 active clubs
- **F.** Builders Club: 30 active clubs
- **G.** K-Kids Clubs: 32 active clubs
- H. Key Club Budget Adjustment previously approved by the Executive Committee

### VI. Board Committees

- A. BYLAWS & POLICIES COMMITTEE: A. Dozier (C)
- **B. BUDGET & FINANCE COMMITTEE**: R. Carter (C)
  - i. Kiwanis District, Key Club, and Circle K Financials
  - ii. Club Dues Status
  - iii. Preliminary District Budget 2024-2025
- C. EDUCATION COMMITTEE: M. Lashover (C)
  - i. CLE Recaps, to date
  - ii. Mid-Year 2025 Education Topics
- **D. MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE**: L. Gilliland (C)
  - i. East Livingston Club Opening Recap
  - ii. New Club Sponsors:
    - 1. eLaMissTenn Club sponsoring the new Kiwanis Club of Sabine
    - 2. Pine Belt, Hattiesburg, MS Club sponsoring the new Kiwanis Club of Covington County
    - 3. Walker Club sponsoring the new Kiwanis Club of East Livingston
    - 4. St. Bernard-Arabi committed to sponsor a new club; site TBD
  - iii. Club Strengthening
- E. SERVICE COMMITTEE: O. Brown (C)

## F. SLP COMMITTEE: D. Green (C)

### VII. New Business

- **A.** 2024-2025 Lt. Governors (19 of 22 secured)
  - i. Region I:
    - 1. 1A, Kimberly Jackson
    - 2. 1C, Pricilla Harris
  - ii. Region II:
    - 1. 2, Tracy Cameron
    - 2. 10A, Girault Jones
    - 3. 10B, Melonie Kight
    - 4. 10C, Zandra Conner
  - iii. Region III:
    - 1. 3, Tytil Nicholson
    - 2. 5, Jacob Windham
    - 3. 14N, Picayune, Lucedale
    - 4. 14S, Scarlett Green
    - 5. 15, Donna Osburn
  - iv. Region IV:
    - 1. 4A, Al Lotz
    - 2. 4B, Valerie Johnson
  - v. Region V:
    - 1. 8E, Matthew Robinson
    - 2. 8W, Cherryl Matthews
    - 3. 13, Scott Samford
  - vi. Region VI:
    - 1. 7, Rhonda Lorio
    - 2. 12, Amanda Johnson
    - 3. 17, Debbie Stevens
  - vii. Region VII:
    - 1. 6, Greater Ouachita, Rayville, Ruston
    - 2. 9, Desoto Parish Mansfield, Greater Haughton, Shreveport, Southeast Shreveport, Southern Hills
    - 3. 11, Danny Wilburn
- **B.** 2024-2025 District Committee Chairs and Key Positions
  - i. Executive Committee Chair: Claude Vinson
  - ii. Finance Committee Chair: Ralph Carter
  - iii. Bylaws & Policies Committee Chair: Andrew Dozier
  - iv. Education Committee Chair: Jennifer Kelly-White
  - v. International Action Committee (IAC) Chair: (to be elected at DCON)
  - vi. Membership Committee Chair: Laura Gilliland
  - vii. Service Committee Chair: Oscar Brown
  - viii. Service Leadership Programs (SLP) Committee Chair: Darren Green
  - ix. Aktion Club: Judy Couvillion
  - x. Builders Club: Felisha Mason
  - xi. Circle K Admin:
  - xii. Circle K Admin Assistant:
  - xiii. District Bulletin Editor: Tiffany LaPorte
  - xiv. DCON Coordinator: Jen Robertson
  - xv. DCON Host Chair: Sue Olsson
  - xvi. Human & Spiritual Values: Dennis Oliver
  - xvii. ICON Coordinator: (IAC Chair)
  - xviii. K-Kids Admin: Don Eye

- xix. Key Club Admin: Danny Williams
- xx. Key Club Admin Assistant: Anna Kate Broussard
- xxi. Key Leader, North: Linda Ramsey
- xxii. Key Leader, South: John Magness
- xxiii. Kiwanis Children's Fund Coordinator: Lenny Simmons
- xxiv. Major Emphasis Project, AEDs: Pam Morgan
- xxv. District Membership Coordinator (DMC): Angela Croom
- xxvi. Operation Park Bench Coordinator: Sue Olsson
- xxvii. Partnership Coordinator:
- xxviii. Past Governors: John Fry
- xxix. Public Relations Chair: Donna Leggett
- xxx. Resolutions Committee Chair: Andrew Dozier
- xxxi. Risk Manager: Patrice Cusimano
- xxxii. Webmaster: Jen Robertson
- xxxiii. Youth Protection Manager: Michele Crosby O'Neal
- C. LaMissTenn Hall of Fame
- **D.** Trustee Appointment for term ending 9/30/2025 in light of Vice Governor election
- **E.** Specialty License Plates in LA, MS, and TN
- **F.** Potential Future DCON Locations:
  - i. 2025: Memphis
  - ii. 2026: Cruise
  - iii. 2027 & 2028::
    - 1. Louisiana:
      - i. Alexandria, Bentley and/or Holiday Inn
      - ii. Lake Charles, Golden Nugget and L'Auberge
      - iii. Metairie, Hilton New Orleans Airport
      - iv. Natchitoches: Natchitoches Event Center
      - v. West Monroe: West Monroe Sports & Event Center Hilton Garden Inn and Hilton Home2Suite
    - 2. Mississippi:
      - i. Hattiesburg
      - ii. Natchez, Natchez Convention Center
      - iii. Starkville: The Mill
      - iv. Vicksburg

# VIII. District Calendar

September 2024

30 End of Kiwanis Year

October 2024

2 Board Meeting, 6pm via zoom

November 2025

1-3 Key Leader South

December 2024

7 Board Meeting, 9am-11am via zoom

January 2025

21 109<sup>th</sup> Anniversary of Kiwanis International

March 2025

- Board Meeting, 5pm-7pm, Natchez, MS
- 22 Mid-Year Education Conference, Natchez, MS
- 23 Key Club International Birthday

April 2025

18-19 Lt. Governor-Elect Education Conference, TBD

**June 2025** 

25-28 110<sup>th</sup> Annual International Convention, Pittsburgh, PA **August 2025**8-10 107<sup>th</sup> Annual LaMissTenn Kiwanis District Convention, Memphis, TN
10 Board Meeting, 10am-12pm Memphis, TN

# **Future District Conventions**

2026 108th Annual LaMissTenn Kiwanis District Convention, TBD

# **Future Kiwanis International Conventions**

**2026** 111<sup>th</sup> Annual KI Convention, Manila, Philippines, June 24-27 **2027** 112<sup>th</sup> Annual KI Convention, Dallas, TX, June 17-19

- **IX. Executive Session** to discuss the Executive Director's job evaluation
- X. Trustee Remarks
- XI. Governor-Elect Remarks, Claude Vinson
- XII. Governor Remarks, John Fry
- XIII. Adjournment